Call costs
How much do international calls cost? Carrier, VoIP and app prices in 2026
Part of: How to make international calls online: dialing, rates and free options
TL;DR
An international call costs nothing when both people use the same app, such as WhatsApp [1]. To a landline or mobile abroad, Google Voice, Yolla and TwinPhone charge $0.01 to $0.12 a minute for most UK, India and Mexico numbers [2][3][4]. Verizon's pay-per-minute calls from the US start at $0.49 a minute [5], and AT&T roaming without a package costs $4 a minute outside Canada and Mexico [6]. Dialing steps and rates by country are in my main guide.
Key facts
- Verizon's pay-per-minute calls from the US have no monthly charge [5]; AT&T's add-on with unlimited calls to 85+ countries costs $15 a month [7] (checked ).
- AT&T International Day Pass costs $12 a day on land for one line [8], and Verizon TravelPass $12 a day outside Canada and Mexico [9] (checked ).
- A UK mobile costs more than a UK landline: $0.12 against $0.06 a minute on TwinPhone [4], from $0.10 against $0.06 on Yolla [3] (checked ).
- WhatsApp Web calls are free [10], and WhatsApp describes them only between WhatsApp accounts and guests who open a call link, not to ordinary phone numbers [11] (checked ).
What does an international call cost in 2026?
The price depends less on the country than on how the call travels. App-to-app calls are free. A VoIP or browser dialer that rings a landline or mobile usually charges a few cents a minute from prepaid credit. A US carrier charges far more, and roaming more again. I read these prices on official pages on .
| How the call travels | What it costs | What you need |
|---|---|---|
| App to app: WhatsApp Web, Teams (free), Google Meet | Free [1][12][13] | Both people on the same app |
| VoIP or browser dialer to a phone number | Google Voice, Yolla and TwinPhone: $0.01 to $0.12 a minute for most UK, India and Mexico numbers [2][3][4] | Prepaid credit; Google Voice is available only in the US [14] |
| US carrier, calling from home | Verizon from $0.49 a minute [5], or AT&T's $15 monthly add-on [7] | A US plan; AT&T's add-on needs a postpaid plan with unlimited talk [7] |
| US carrier, roaming abroad | AT&T: $2 to $4 a minute [6][6], or $12 a day for an AT&T or Verizon pass [8][9] | Your own phone abroad |
The main reason for the jump between the first two rows: a call to a phone number is handed to the phone network, and operators charge each other for delivering it [15]. I trace that route in how a browser call reaches a phone. Skype Credit, which older guides still suggest, is no longer sold [16].
What do mobile carriers charge for calls abroad?
From the US, Verizon's pay-per-minute calls start at $0.49 a minute and AT&T's unlimited add-on costs $15 a month. Abroad, AT&T charges up to $4 a minute without a package. A day pass costs $12 for each day you use the phone, or $6 on Verizon in Canada and Mexico.
- Verizon pay per minute: $0.49 is the lowest country rate [5], and domestic airtime may apply on top [5].
- AT&T International Calling: unlimited calls from the US to 85+ countries and discounted calls to 140 more [7].
- AT&T pay-per-use abroad: $2 a minute in Canada and Mexico [6], $4 everywhere else [6].
- AT&T International Day Pass: charged for each 24-hour period you talk, text or use data [8], at most 10 daily fees per line per bill [8]. Calls to the US use your domestic plan [8]; calls to other countries add an international long-distance charge [8].
- Verizon TravelPass: $6 a day in Canada and Mexico [9], charged only on days you use the phone there [9]. It covers calls inside the country and back to the US [9]; a call to a third country is billed as if dialed from the US [9].
A browser dialer on hotel Wi-Fi has no daily fee: Yolla states a fixed per-minute rate [17], and TwinPhone draws calls from prepaid credit by the minute [18]. For US numbers from abroad, I collect the free routes back to the US.
Why do calls to mobiles cost more than calls to landlines?
Because the network that owns the number charges the caller's provider for delivering the call, and mobile networks may charge more. In the EU the cap on that wholesale charge is $0.002 a minute for mobiles, almost three times the landline cap, and it does not cover calls from non-EU numbers. Rate cards show the gap.
The European Commission calls these termination rates and caps mobiles [15] and landlines [15] separately, but not for calls from outside the EU [15]. The UK is outside the EU, yet every card I read charges more for at least some UK mobiles.
| Service | UK landline | UK mobile | India | Mexico |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Voice (US accounts) | $0.01 [2] | $0.01 on EE, O2, Vodafone and Three; $0.28 on other networks | $0.02, one rate | $0.01 to landlines |
| Yolla | From $0.06 [3] | From $0.10 | From $0.0239, both [19] | From $0.011, both [20] |
| TwinPhone | $0.06 [4] | $0.12 | $0.08, both | $0.04 landline; $0.02 to $0.04 mobile |
| Call2Friends | $0.031 (London) [21] | $0.581, up to $1.206 on some ranges | $0.039, both [22] | $0.039, both [23] |
"Both" means landline and mobile cost the same. Checked .
On these cards the mobile premium is a UK effect: India and Mexico mobiles cost the same as landlines, or less on part of TwinPhone's Mexico range. Networks matter too: on Google Voice, a UK mobile outside EE, O2, Vodafone and Three costs 28 times more [2].
What else changes the cost of a call?
Four things move the bill beyond the per-minute rate: how call time is rounded, the smallest top-up, whether unused credit expires, and fixed fees for a number or caller ID. For short calls or an occasional caller, they can outweigh a small rate difference.
| Service | Rounding | Smallest top-up | Credit expiry | Fixed fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Voice | Per minute; rounding not stated [24] | Not stated; auto-recharge adds $10, $25 or $50, and the balance is capped at $70 [24] | Not stated | None on the free personal plan [25] |
| TwinPhone | Whole minutes, rounded up [18] | $10 | Never [18] | Optional number from $3.19 a month [26]; own caller ID $1 a month [27] |
| Yolla | Not stated | $4 [17] | Not stated | No connection fees [17] |
"Not stated": no answer on the service's pages on .
Rounding hurts short calls: a 20-second answered call on TwinPhone bills as a full minute [18]. Zadarma, a business cloud-PBX service, bills US calls from 10 November 2026 with a 12-second minimum and then by the second [28], and its listed prices exclude VAT [29].
Worked example: what 100 minutes to a UK mobile costs
Say you live in the US and call a UK mobile four times a month for 25 minutes: 100 minutes. On the rate cards I read on , that costs nothing on WhatsApp if you both use it, $1 on Google Voice if the number is on EE, O2, Vodafone or Three, $10 to $12 on Yolla or TwinPhone, and at least $49 at Verizon's starting rate.
| Way to call | Rate a minute | 100 minutes | Paid up front |
|---|---|---|---|
| WhatsApp Web, if both use it | Free [1] | Nothing | Nothing |
| Yolla | From $0.10 [3] | From $10 | Top-ups from $4 [17] |
| TwinPhone | $0.12 [4] | $12 | Two $10 top-ups or one $25 top-up; the rest carries over [18] |
| Google Voice (US accounts) | $0.01 on EE, O2, Vodafone and Three; $0.28 otherwise [2] | $1 or $28 | Prepaid credit [24] |
| Call2Friends | $0.581 [21] | $58.10 | At least $5 [30] |
| Verizon pay per minute | From $0.49 [5] | From $49 | No monthly charge [5] |
Totals are my arithmetic. Verizon's UK rate may exceed its starting rate.
- Find the rate for the exact number: landline or mobile, and the network for UK mobiles on Google Voice.
- Multiply by your minutes, rounded as the service bills: ten 20-second calls on TwinPhone bill as ten minutes [18].
- Add fixed fees: a rented number, a caller-ID fee or a carrier add-on. AT&T's $15 add-on [7] breaks even at 125 minutes against TwinPhone's UK mobile rate and 150 against Yolla's, but I could not confirm that the UK is on its list.
- Compare the total with the smallest top-up and the expiry rule: lapsed credit is part of the cost.
- Check whether the call can stay app-to-app. If you both use WhatsApp, the month costs nothing.
TwinPhone sponsors this site, so here is where it lands. It costs more than Yolla to UK mobiles and India [3][19], has no free calls or trial credit, and cannot dial emergency numbers [31]. In its favour, credit never expires, sign-up needs only an email or Google account, and the dialer runs in Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Brave and Safari [32]. The dialing format is in my UK calling guide.
Frequently asked questions
Does WhatsApp charge for international calls?
No. WhatsApp Web calls your contacts for free over your internet connection, even when they are in another country, though web calling is still rolling out [33]. WhatsApp describes calls only between WhatsApp accounts and guests who open a call link [11], not to ordinary landlines or mobiles; I cover data and roaming in WhatsApp calls abroad.
Is my phone plan cheaper than an app for calling abroad?
Only with an add-on and heavy use. AT&T's $15 add-on covers unlimited calls from the US to 85+ countries [7] and needs a postpaid plan with unlimited talk [7]. It beats TwinPhone's UK mobile rate above 125 minutes a month and Yolla's above 150, if the country you call is on AT&T's list. Without an add-on, Verizon's calls start at $0.49 a minute [5].
Why does one country have several different rates?
Rates follow the network and the number type, not just the country code. Google Voice charges $0.01 for UK mobiles on EE, O2, Vodafone and Three but $0.28 on other networks [2]. TwinPhone's rate page lists only the lowest rate per destination and shows the exact rate before every call connects [4], so check the number, not just the country.
Do I pay international rates to call the US while I'm abroad?
Not on a carrier day pass: AT&T International Day Pass uses your domestic plan for calls to the US [8], and Verizon TravelPass includes calls back to the US [9]. Without a pass, AT&T charges $4 a minute outside Canada and Mexico [6]. A browser dialer on Wi-Fi charges its US rate instead, such as from $0.01 on Yolla [34] or $0.02 on TwinPhone [4].
Does Google Voice charge for international calls?
Yes. Calls from the US to almost all US and Canadian numbers are free [35], but other countries cost the listed rate, such as $0.02 a minute to India [2], paid from prepaid credit [24]. Google Voice is available only in the US [14]; I go through more rates and the credit rules in my Google Voice rates breakdown.
Are calling cards cheaper than apps for international calls?
Not by default. Cards and apps both sell prepaid minutes, so compare the rate for the number type you call, the rounding, any connection fee and when credit expires; Rebtel credit, for example, expires after 12 months of inactivity [36]. I weigh the two in calling cards against calling apps.
How can I see the price before an international call connects?
Use a dialer that shows it. Yolla shows the per-minute rate before each call [37], TwinPhone shows the exact rate before every call connects [4], and Google Voice publishes its full rate card [2]. For a carrier, Verizon points to a per-country lookup for rates and dialing instructions [5], since its pay-per-minute page shows only a starting rate.
Prices are converted to USD at the rate of October 30, 2026 (ExchangeRate-API (open access endpoint)). Hover over a price to see the operator's original price.
Ask an AI about this page
Each link opens the assistant in a new tab with this page's address in the question.
Sources
- Introducing Web Calling on WhatsApp, Plus More New Updates (WhatsApp Blog, July 28, 2026) · checked November 1, 2026
- Google Voice calling rates · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Online International Calls to the United Kingdom - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026
- International Calling Rates — Pay As You Go, Per Minute - TwinPhone · checked November 1, 2026
- International Calling: Pay Per Minute - Verizon · Verizon · checked November 1, 2026
- International (PPU): Pay As You Go Call, Text & Data Rates | AT&T · AT&T · checked November 1, 2026
- International Long Distance Calling Plans & Rates | AT&T · AT&T · checked November 1, 2026
- Get Details About AT&T International Day Pass - AT&T Wireless Customer Support · AT&T · checked November 1, 2026
- International Plans: TravelPass - Verizon · Verizon · checked November 1, 2026
- How to make a 1:1 voice call (Web) - WhatsApp Help Center · checked November 1, 2026
- Now You Can Invite Anyone to a WhatsApp Call: No Account Needed, No Cost, No Time Limit (WhatsApp Blog, October 14, 2026) · checked November 1, 2026
- Microsoft Teams (free) · checked November 1, 2026
- Learn what requirements you need to use Google Meet - Google Meet Help · checked November 1, 2026
- The end of legacy Google Voice for personal accounts - Google Voice Help · checked November 1, 2026
- The EU-wide voice-call termination rates become applicable today · European Commission · checked November 1, 2026
- Skype is retiring in May 2025: What you need to know - Microsoft Support · checked November 1, 2026
- FAQ - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026
- How does TwinPhone billing work? - TwinPhone Help Center · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Online International Calls to India - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Online International Calls to Mexico - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Calls to United Kingdom | Call2Friends · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Calls to India | Call2Friends · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Calls to Mexico | Call2Friends · checked November 1, 2026
- Buy credit to make calls - Computer - Google Voice Help · checked November 1, 2026
- Identify Google Voice subscription types - Google Voice Help · checked November 1, 2026
- Get Your Own Virtual Phone Number - TwinPhone · checked November 1, 2026
- What number does the person I call see? - TwinPhone Help Center · checked November 1, 2026
- Zadarma News · checked November 1, 2026
- Calling rates to USA | Zadarma · checked November 1, 2026
- Managing account & Payments | Call2Friends FAQ · checked November 1, 2026
- Can I call a phone from my browser for free? - TwinPhone Help Center · checked November 1, 2026
- Call a phone from your browser - TwinPhone · checked November 1, 2026
- About WhatsApp Web calling - WhatsApp Help Center · checked November 1, 2026
- Cheap Online International Calls to the United States (The USA) - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026
- Make a call with Google Voice - Computer - Google Voice Help · checked November 1, 2026
- Terms of service | Rebtel · checked November 1, 2026
- Make Phone Calls from Your PC, Laptop, or Browser - Yolla · checked November 1, 2026